Recognizing Our Alumni

Andover Alumni Award of Distinction

The Andover Alumni Awards of Distinction are presented by the Alumni Council to recognize distinguished alumni and alumnae from the more than 20,000 living alumni around the globe. The Award recognizes and honors alumni/ae of Phillips Academy or Abbot Academy who have served with distinction in their fields of endeavor. The recipients’ accomplishments and contributions shall have embodied the values of Andover/Abbot and shall have had a significant positive impact on their communities, society, or the world.

For 2023, the Alumni Council of Phillips Academy, on behalf of all alumni, selected the following three alumni to receive the Andover Alumni Award of Distinction: Paula Caballero '80, Lanie B. Finbury '68, P'99, and Peter Saji '96. We look forward to celebrating them on campus in October.

Fuess Award

Andover’s highest honor acknowledging distinguished contribution to public service. Named after Phillips Academy’s 10th headmaster, Claude Moore Fuess.

The Andover Distinguished Service Award

The Andover Distinguished Service Award is presented annually by decision of the Academy Resources Committee of the Board of Trustees to volunteers whose services to Andover have been distinguished by commitment, uniqueness, and effectiveness. Their efforts on behalf of their school provide an inspiring example for all Andover volunteers.

Athletics Hall of Honor

To recognize and honor alumni, teams, and coaches from Phillips and Abbot academies who displayed exceptional athletic ability on the field and who continue to lead a life that embodies the values of the academies.

Andover and the Military

Andover and its graduates have a long, rich tradition of military service. Andover and the Military was created to recognize Phillips Academy men and women who have served in the U.S. military and to reconnect them with the broader Andover community.

Notable Alumni

Learn more about what our alumni have accomplished in life after Andover.

Bill Belichick ’71

Six-time Super Bowl-winning coach of the New England Patriots.

Dana Delany ’74

Two-time Emmy award winning actress best known for China Beach and Desperate Housewives.

Julia Alvarez ’67

Award-winning writer whose prose and poetry have been greatly influenced by her experiences as a Dominican in the United States.

view full profile

Oscar Tang ’56

President of the Board, 2004–12; Charter Trustee, 1995–2012.

view full profile

Hafsat Abiola ’92

Activist helping to promote democracy and improve the lives of the women in Nigeria.

view full profile

George H. W. Bush ’42 P’64, ’71, ’75

Veteran, Congressman, Ambassador, CIA Director, Vice-President, President.

Vanessa Kerry ’95

Founder of SEED Global Health, an organization that brings health services and medical training to under-served parts of the globe.

Capt. Thomas J. Hudner Jr. ’43

First Medal of Honor recipient of the Korean War.

view full profile

Ai-jen Poo ’92

National labor organizer and leader. 2016 Fuess Award honoree.

view full profile

Kevin “KO” Olusola ’06

Beatboxer for the Grammy-winning a cappella group Pentatonix and an accomplished cellist.