Fall Term Information for Phillips Academy Families

Read More
Commencement 2018
June 04, 2018

Phillips Academy Class of 2018

330 students earn diplomas

Eager to pursue the bright future before them, the 330 members of the Class of 2018 graduated Sunday, June 3, in a sun-filled Commencement ceremony, the school’s 240th.

Some 3,000 guests attended the exercises, which took place in front of Samuel Phillips Hall. The traditional procession of trustees, faculty emeriti, faculty and seniors was led by the stirring sounds of Clan MacPherson Pipes and Drums. The jubilant seniors each carried a red Abbot rose.

1 8

Head of School John Palfrey, P’21 announced the five major prizes traditionally awarded at Commencement:

  • Katherine “Tookie” Wilson – Non Sibi Award – to the student who has honored Phillips Academy’s non sibi (not for self) tradition through their efforts on behalf of others
  • Nicholas Isenhower – Yale Bowl – to the member of the senior class who has attained the highest proficiency in scholarship and athletics
  • Nigle “Buzzy” Barrow III – Faculty Prize – for outstanding scholarship during the senior year
  • Emily Ndiokho – Madame Sarah Abbot Award – to a young woman for strong character, leadership and outstanding scholarship
  • David Onabanjo – Aurelian Honor Society Award – for sterling character, high scholarship and forceful leadership

Commencement Weekend festivities kicked off Friday, June 1, with our Community Convocation, where seniors were presented with their class banner and reflected on the past four years. Saturday afternoon presented one last chance for student musicians to perform in Cochran Chapel at the Senior Concert. Once the sun had set Saturday night, graduates and their families returned to Cochran Chapel for the candlelight Baccalaureate ceremony. 

Categories: Academics, Campus Life

Other Stories

Anti-Racism Task Force shares an update

A letter from the Anti-Racism Task Force

MLK Day workshops in review

More than 400 community members continued to strengthen their understanding of civil rights