Investiture XVI


Dr. Raynard S. Kington became the 16th head of school at Phillips Academy in Andover, Massachusetts, in July 2020. Prior to Andover, he served for 10 years as president of Grinnell College (2010–2020) and is now president emeritus. He previously served in a range of positions at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), including principal deputy director and acting director, associate director of the Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research, and acting director of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.

Before NIH, Dr. Kington was a division director at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and served as director of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES). He has also been a senior scientist at the RAND Corporation and assistant professor of medicine at UCLA. He was elected to the Institute of Medicine (now the National Academy of Medicine) in 2006.

Dr. Kington attended the University of Michigan, where he earned a BS with distinction and an MD degree; he completed his residency in internal medicine at Michael Reese Medical Center in Chicago. He was a Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar at the University of Pennsylvania, where he earned an MBA with distinction and a PhD with a concentration in health policy and economics at the Wharton School and was awarded a Fontaine Fellowship. Dr. Kington received his board certification in internal medicine, public health and preventive medicine, and geriatric medicine.

His research has focused on the social determinants of health and, more recently, on diversity in the scientific workforce. He currently serves on the boards of the National Opinion Research Center, Beth Israel Lahey Health, RAND, and The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Dr. Kington is married to Peter Daniolos, MD, a professor of child and adolescent psychiatry. They have two sons.

Past Phillips Academy Principals & Heads
  • Eliphalet Pearson | 1778–1786
  • Ebenezer Pemberton | 1786–1793
  • Mark Newman | 1794–1809
  • John Adams | 1810–1833
  • Osgood Johnson | 1833–1837
  • Samuel H. Taylor | 1837–1871
  • Frederic W. Tilton | 1871–1873
  • Cecil F.P. Bancroft | 1873–1901
  • Alfred E. Stearns | 1903–1933
  • Claude M. Fuess | 1933–1948
  • John M. Kemper | 1948–1971
  • Theodore R. Sizer | 1972–1981
  • Donald W. McNemar | 1981–1994
  • Barbara Landis Chase | 1994–2012
  • John G. Palfrey Jr. | 2012–2019
  • James F. Ventre ’79 | 2019–2020 (interim head of school)
Past Abbot Academy Principals
  • Charles Goddard | 1829–1831
  • Reverend Samuel Lamson | 1832–1834
  • Reverend Samuel Gilman Brown | 1835–1838
  • Reverend Lorenzo Lorraine Langstroth | 1838–1839
  • Reverend Timothy Dwight Porter Stone | 1839–1842
  • Reverend Asa Farwell | 1842–1852
  • Peter Smith Byers | 1853 (elected but did not serve)
  • Nancy Judson Hasseltine | 1854–1856
  • Maria Jane Bancroft Brown | 1856–1857
  • Emma L. Taylor | 1857–1859
  • Philena McKeen | 1859–1892
  • Laura Sophia Watson | 1892–1898
  • Emily Adams Means | 1898–1911
  • Bertha Bailey | 1912–1935
  • Marguerite Capen Hearsey | 1936–1955
  • Mary Hinckley Crane | 1955–1966
  • Eleanor Tucker | 1966–1968 (acting principal)
  • Donald A. Gordon | 1968–1973

In consideration of the health and safety of visitors and our campus community, we ask that all eligible attendees be fully vaccinated, including booster, and wear masks for indoor events. We ask that you monitor your health prior to visiting campus. If you are feeling unwell, please plan to stay home. In the spirit of non sibi, the Academy trusts that those in attendance will follow these guidelines. As we get closer to the event, we will keep you updated on our COVID-19 guidelines and practices.